After three days of breath-taking competition between 19 national Chocolate Masters, the results of the fifth World Chocolate Masters competition have been announced. The event took place at the "Salon du Chocolat Professionnel" exhibition at Porte de Versailles in Paris (France).

At this year's world finals, organized for the fifth time by Cacao Barry®, Callebaut® and Carma®, Davide Comaschi, winner of the Italian World Chocolate Masters pre-selection, was selected as the "World Chocolate Master 2013" by an international jury composed of 23 leading chocolate professionals. In second place was Marike Van Beurden from Netherlands and in third place Deniz Karaca from Australia.

From the beginning in 1842, Cacao Barry's mission has been to provide new perspectives and to constantly set higher standards for the creative world of chocolate. With an intuitive taste for discovery, Cacao Barry is proud to be part of World Chocolate Masters, a movement which leads the way into the future as we will thrive by working together. Like partners in a dance we balance each other in skills, taste and knowledge, generously embracing contrast and ideas, encouraging inspiration and provoking tension while trusting that we are there for each other, because we all love chocolate.

With the theme of this year's competition being "The Architecture of Taste," the jury carefully evaluated the contestants' work and creativity through chocolate.  The jury was headed by Honorary President of Honour, Iginio Massari, famous Italian Relais Desserts and included Presidents Norman Love, well-known Chocolatier from USA, Angelo Musa, Meilleur Ouvrier de France 2007 and Sergio Herman, 3 stars Michelin Chef and Spécial President for this year Final.

In addition to the overall winners, the jury gave special awards for "Best moulded praline," "Best dipped praline," "Best gastronomic chocolate dessert," "Best chocolate pastry" and "Best chocolate showpiece." As a highlight this year, additional awards have been granted for "Best Creation of the Architect of the world" and "International Press Award."

This year and for the second time, fans had the possibility to vote online for their favourite chocolate showpiece. The social media award won by Canada in 2011 celebrated Luis Robledo from Mexico who gathered an impressive number of likes on the world chocolate masters.

The overall winner was awarded the World Chocolate Masters 2013 trophy specially created by leading Dutch designer Rob Verhoeven.

1st Davide Comaschi from Italy, World Chocolate Master 2013
2nd Marike Van Beurden from Netherlands in second place
3rd Deniz Karaca from Australia in third place

Please find the full results on