James H. Morgan, former president and chief executive officer of Krispy Kreme Doughnuts, Inc., will transition from executive chairman of the board to non-executive chairman, effective Jan. 29, 2015.

Morgan was president and CEO of Krispy Kreme from January 2008 until June 2014, and has served on the company’s board of directors since 2000, including serving as chairman of the board since 2005.

Krispy Kreme said Robert S. McCoy Jr. will continue as the board’s lead independent director, a position he has held since 2008.

“We are grateful to Jim for his exceptional stewardship of the company and for his tireless service as an executive officer since 2008,” McCoy said. “His many accomplishments over the past seven years are well known. Jim’s transition to non-executive chairman is a natural evolution of his role at Krispy Kreme, and we are appreciative of his ongoing commitment to the business as the leader of our board of directors.”

Morgan said Krispy Kreme has had “a special place” in his heart since childhood.

“Working at Krispy Kreme has provided some of the most enjoyable moments of my career, with the company’s outstanding community of team members, franchisees, shareholders and, most importantly, customers around the world,” he said. “It has been a supreme pleasure to work here, and I look forward to my continued service as a director.”