The Coupe du Monde de la Pâtisserie continues its transition toward a more conscious, engaged, and responsible approach to pastry. These are values that are important to Pierre Hermé, president, and to Claire Heitzler and Frédéric Cassel, the two new vice presidents of the contest, which has entirely renewed its International Organizing Committee.

The next final of the Coupe du Monde de la Pâtisserie will be held on Jan. 24-25, 2021, at the Eurexpo venue of Lyon, France, as part of the Sirha trade fair. The event will represent a first step toward the implementation of these changes.

“I wanted to bring a fresh impetus to the contest to promote an engaged form of pastry,” Hermé says. “The new International Organizing Committee will be intent on involving the participants, judges, partners, and other players concerned with the Coupe du Monde de la Pâtisserie in a responsible and ecological approach. I surround myself with members who share these values, as well as those of diversity and excellence that are so important to the Coupe du Monde de la Pâtisserie.”

Chefs Heitzler and Cassel are keen to orient the contest toward engaged and responsible pastry, while continuing to enhance the image of the trade and promoting the transmission and know-how of the Coupe du Monde de la Pâtisserie.

“We are experiencing a period in which ecological and climate change are a reality,” says Heitzler. “To satisfy the need for information and transparency regarding raw products, their origins and impact on our health, it is essential that seasonality, biodiversity, respect for the land find their place at the heart of the pastry industry. We must realize that nature is our main work instrument and that the decisions we make today will allow us to work better tomorrow.”

A new mixed International Organizing Committee, composed of experience chefs and young modern chefs, aims to chart a new course, and bring fresh impetus to the contest. They include Julien Alvarez, Quentin Bailly, Sébastien Bouillet, Christelle Brua, Alain Chartier, Patrick Chevallot, Claire Damon, Sophie De Bernardi, Jérôme De Oliveira, Laurent Le Daniel, Johanna Le Pape, Christophe Michalak, Angelo Musa, Philippe Rigollot, Marc Rivière and Eric Vergne, who will have the major task of succeeding the previous committee that has worked continuously for the Coupe du Monde de la Pâtisserie for more than 30 years.